Skip to main content

Striders sweep the board - Linda Franks 5 mile road race, Sunday 21 January 2024

« back   approx 2 mins read.

Striders sweep the board

CLC Striders ran to victory in the local Linda Franks five-mile race around Hatherley, hosted by Almost Athletes, on Sunday 21 January 2024. In the relative calm ahead of Storm Isha, a large field of runners gathered for the running of this friendly and fast local event.

After running stride for stride with a Stroud AC athlete, CLC Striders’ Rob Green pulled away over the second half of the race to win comfortably in a time of 25:50 – smashing the club record for his age category in the process.

Just under a minute behind, Joe Willgoss bagged a PB time of 26:47 for third place, and Rob Barnett completed the triumphant trio, finishing in fifth place in a PB time of 27:06. In what was a fantastic start to the road racing year, the three CLC Striders men easily won the team competition on the day too.

There was a good crop of other CLC Striders out for the race. They included men’s captain Will Pearce, who finished 28th in a time of 30:14 and Adam Greenwood, starting his London Marathon year, with a solid 42nd place and a time of 30:41. Coming back from injury, Paul Northup surprised himself with a time of 32:49 and Nick Ledwold recorded 33:39.34. Rachael Cary was next home in a time of 34:40 and then came Nigel Bailey and Tim Brock, who ran in lockstep until the final finishing straight, clocking 34:49 (a PB) and 34:54 respectively. Steph Parker ran well for 36:08 and Colin Upton finished in 36:43, and Mike Speke registered 38:42.

All in all, it was a great day for the club.

CLC Striders now turn their organisational attention to next Sunday’s inaugural running of the Boddington 10-mile road race, just west of Cheltenham, where an incredibly strong field is lined up to do battle over the super-flat and fast lanes around Boddington and Barrow – just off the A4019. It promises to be an amazing event, having sold out within 24 hours.

The triumphant trio

Pictured, the triumphant trio, from left to right: Rob Barnett, Rob Green and Joe Willgoss.